L Prize Competition adds further partners

April 14, 2009
Eight further organizations and utilities have been added, and will provide winning LED L Prize products with access to 70% of US electric customers.
The US Department of Energy (DOE) has added eight new partners -- for a total of 23 in 29 states -- that have agreed to work cooperatively to promote the winners of the Bright Tomorrow Lighting Prize (L Prize) competition.

“With the addition of these regions, partners will bring a big plus to the L Prize competition — the ability to reach more than 70% of US electric customers,” said Jim Brodrick, SSL Program Manager for DOE.

The following energy efficiency organizations and utilities each just signed a Memorandum of Understanding with the DOE:

  • Ameren Illinois Utilities
  • Long Island Power Authority
  • National Grid
  • New York State Energy Research and Development Authority (NYSERDA)
  • Northeast Energy Efficiency Partnerships
  • Platte River Power Authority
  • Progress Energy
  • Puget Sound Energy

The L Prize is the first government-sponsored technology competition designed to spur lighting manufacturers to develop high quality, high-efficiency LED products to replace the common light bulb.

The 23 partners will bring utility programs and other incentives to winning L Prize products.

DOE’s goal is to drive quality and energy efficiency up while bringing the cost of this technology down, leading to broader acceptance in the market.

The DOE announced the competition in May 2008 as a result of the Energy Independence and Security Act of 2007, which directs DOE to establish the Bright Tomorrow Lighting Prize (L Prize) competition.

The legislation challenges industry to develop replacement technologies for 60W incandescent lamps and PAR 38 halogen lamps, as well as development of a new “21st Century Lamp”.