WEBCAST: Understanding how Zhaga Books enable a modular approach to SSL product design

The Webcast will provide an insider's view of the foundation, accomplishments and goals of the Zhaga Consortium.

Dec 19th, 2012
Content Dam Leds En Articles Print Volume 9 Issue 12 Features Webcast Understanding How Zhaga Books Enable A Modular Approach To Ssl Product Design Leftcolumn Article Thumbnailimage File
Title: Understanding how Zhaga Books enable a modular approach to SSL product design

Date: Thursday, January 24, 2013

Time: 8:00 am PDT | 9:00 am CDT | 11:00 am EDT | 4:00 pm UK

Speaker: Menno Treffers, secretary general of the Zhaga Consortium

Register for this Webcast now

Overview: The Webcast will provide an insider's view of the foundation, accomplishments and goals of the Zhaga Consortium. The presentation will cover the benefits on industry standardization relative to solid-state lighting (SSL) products, and the particularly difficulties of defining electrical, mechanical, optical, and thermal interfaces to modular light engines. Further, the Webcast will describe the consortium's work thus far publishing its specification Books for specific types of luminaires and provide insight into upcoming activity on Books that are in progress or planned. The talk will also cover Zhaga's plans to open books to the public domain once they are published and to ultimately have the Books formally standardized by established industry-standard bodies.

Register for this Webcast now

+++++

SPONSOR: UL

+++++

UL is an Authorized Test Center and member of the Zhaga Consortium Steering Committee. In addition to UL's global network of Zhaga testing labs, UL has the capability to conduct evaluations and compliance testing globally to various Product Safety, Energy-Efficiency and Performance Standards.

+++++

SPEAKER

+++++

Menno Treffers joined Philips in 1985 after completing a PhD in physics at Leiden University. As R&D manager he contributed to the creation of various industry standards, such as Super Audio CD, DVD+RW and Blu-ray Disc. Menno Treffers is senior director of standardization at Philips. He is initiator and chairman of the Wireless Power Consortium and secretary general of the Zhaga Consortium, the initiative of the lighting industry making LED light sources interchangeable.

Register for this Webcast now

More in Modular Light Engines