Lighting for Tomorrow recognizes 2010 competition winners

At the 2010 American Lighting Association conference in Las Vegas, NV, the Lighting for Tomorrow competition announced competition winners in SSL luminaire, LED replacement lamps, and lighting control categories.

Content Dam Leds En Articles 2010 09 Lighting For Tomorrow Recognizes 2010 Competition Winners Leftcolumn Article Thumbnailimage File

Winners in the eighth-annual Lighting for Tomorrow 20120 competition were recognized at the annual American Lighting Association (ALA) conference in Las Vegas, Nevada. Shepherded by the ALA, the US Department of Energy (DOE), and the Consortium for Energy Efficiency (CEE), the energy-efficiency-focused Competition recognized 11 of 107 products that were entered in three categories – solid-state-lighting (SSL) fixtures, LED replacement lamps, and lighting controls.

Fifty companies entered products in the Competition and a panel of nine judges evaluated the products based on criteria including efficiency, appearance, color rendering, and aesthetics. The field included 69 SSL luminaires, 24 LED replacement lamps, and 14 lighting-control devices that were evaluated at the California Lighting Technology Center in Davis, California.

Winners in the SSL luminaire category are:

  • Kichler Lighting, Design Pro LED Broad Roof LED Path & Spread Light
  • Kichler Lighting, Design Pro LED Modular and Disc System
  • Edge Lighting, Scope LED Pendant
  • Edge Lighting, Scope LED Monorail/Track Light.

The Competition also recognized honorable mention recipients in the SSL category including:

  • Albeo Technologies Inc., Agito – Intelligent Task Light
  • Blackstone International Ltd., Sunter Architect LED Desk Lamp
  • Cree LED Lighting, CR6 Downlight.

Philips EnduraLED A19 Lamp
A single entry in the replacement lamp category won honors. The Philips EnduraLED A Lamp that was announced at Lightfair International won the category. The 12W product is targeted at replacing 60W incandescent lamps. The lamp uses a design similar to the lamp that Philips has nominated for the DOE L Prize, but the 60W product is a lower cost, lower light output design (see our story on LED replacement lamps).

The award winners in the lighting controls category include:

  • Leviton Manufacturing Co., Inc., Decora CFL Slide Dimmer
  • Lutron Electronics Co., Inc., Radio Powr Savr Occupancy/Vacancy Sensor with Maestro Wireless Switch
  • Legrand/Pass & Seymour, RT1 7-Button Timer.

The organizers of the Competition hope to stimulate the development of energy-efficient lighting – primarily SSL, although the lighting controls can also be used with fluorescent technology. According to the ALA, around 20 organizations nationwide that are focused on energy efficiency participated in the Lighting for Tomorrow competition this year.

More in Home