IES announces 2014 Illumination Awards finalists for lighting design

Dec. 5, 2014

The Illuminating Engineering Society of North America (IES) is pleased to announce the recipients of the IES Illumination Awards for 2014. The IES granted two Awards of Distinction, eleven Awards of Excellence, and five Special Citations. The Awards program recognizes individuals for professionalism, ingenuity and originality in lighting design based on the individual merit of each entry. The Award of Distinction honors extraordinary achievement in lighting design. The Award of Excellence is presented for an exceptional contribution to the art and science of lighting design. The Special Citation recognizes superior elements of a project or, in some instances, the use of lighting as an art form.

Awards were given in the following four categories:Control Innovation Award Sponsored by the Lighting Controls Association Special citation for Innovative Lighting Controls Employed within a Corridor Cleveland Clinic, Fairview Hospital Intensive Care Unit | Cleveland Designers: Shawn Callahan - Karpinski EngineeringThe Energy and Environmental Lighting Design Award Sponsored by Osram Sylvania Special Citation for Demonstration of Daylight Brought into a Subterranean Repurposed Environment Imagining the Lowline | New York City Designers: Arup Raad Studio Ed Jacobs - D.N.I./Brooklyn Navy Yard Award of Excellence Cherriots | Salem, OR Designers: Daren Vandeberg - Reyes Engineering Bank of America Building Façade | Dallas Designers: Andy Lang, Jacob Gerber - Lang Lighting Design Inc.The Edwin F. Guth Memorial Award for Interior Lighting Design Award of Distinction Waldorf Astoria Park Avenue Lobby & Entry | New York City Designers: Renée Cooley, Gio Lee, Renée Joosten,Adam Kroll, Natalia Lesniak, June Park - Cooley Monato Studio Marie-Paule Petitjean, Greg Cranford, Louis Hedgecock, Eric Ohr - BBG-BBGM Alexandra Champalimaud, Winston Kong, HeeSeung Lee, Elisabeth Rogoff - Champalimaud St. Moritz Church | Augsburg, Germany Designers: Douglas James, Admir Jukanovic, Eszter Hanzseros - Mindseye Award of Excellence Baldwin Auditorium Renovation, Duke University | Durham, NC Designers: Francesca Bettridge, Michael Hennes, Nira Wattanachote, Glenn Fujimura - Cline Bettridge Bernstein Lighting Design Inc. Pfeiffer Partners Architects City Performance Hall | Dallas Designers: Robert Shook, Maureen Mahr, Jennifer Curtis, Kimberly Corbett-Oates - Schuler Shook Hyde at American Airlines Arena | Miami Designers: Kyllene Jones, Bryan Klammer - Lighting Design Alliance MIT Barker Engineering Library Reading Room | Cambridge, MA Designers: Julie Rose, Jeffrey Sladen - Sladen Feinstein Integrated Lighting Saenger Theatre | New Orleans Designers: Michael DiBlasi, Julia Gordon - Schuler Shook Spaulding Rehabilitation Hospital | Boston Designers: Susannah Zweighaft - AKF Group Lighting Design Claudia Saavedra University of Baltimore Angelos Law Center | Baltimore Designers: Maureen Moran, Scott Guenther, Kate Fuller, Mitch Johnson – MCLA Inc. Verizon Innovation Center | San Francisco Designers: Carrie Hawley, Robyn Goldstein, Michelle Tessier, Lindsey Mackey - HLB Lighting Design Special Citation for Innovative Use of Acrylics in Lighting Lobby at First National Building | Detroit Designers: Lindsey Mehlberg, Darko Banfic - Peter Basso Associates Inc. Jaimelyn Neher, Bob McLean - Neumann/Smith Architecture Sandra Olave-Sabbagh - College for Creative Arts Special Citation for Illumination of a Four Story-High Onyx Wall Mariinsky II Theatre | St. Petersburg, Russia Designers: Ion Luh, Rebecca Ho-Dion, Wally Eley - Consullux Lighting Consultants / CEL A.J. Diamond, Gary McCluskie, Michael Treacy - Diamond Schmitt Architects Special Citation for the Creative Introduction of Skylights with integrated Lighting Microsoft Sales and Marketing, Building 121 | Redmond, WA Designers: Kat Harding - Pivotal Lighting Design Kyle Gaffney, Shannon Gaffney, Jami Howard, Steve Olson - SkB ArchitectsThe Edwin F. Guth Memorial Award for Outdoor Lighting Design Award of Excellence Yonkers Casino | Yonkers, NY Designers: Suzan Tillotson, Ellen Sears, Mitul Parekh, Kate Nelson - Tillotson Design Associates Jay Valgora, Gianfranco Cerini, Florence Orlando, Roberto Mancinelli, Andy Wu, Mar Granados - Studio V Architecture The IES honored the 2014 IES Illumination Award recipients at the IES Annual Conference on November 2, 2014 in Pittsburgh, PA. At the event, the IES proudly presented the awards to the teams of these eighteen outstanding designs. For more information about each project and to view images of the designs and a list of the Merit recipients, please visit the IES website at About the Illuminating Engineering Society of North America IES is the oldest and largest educational and scientific society in North America devoted to lighting. Since 1906, the IES has sought to improve the lighted environment by bringing together those with lighting knowledge and by translating that knowledge into actions that benefit the public. A broad variety of programs, including publications, conferences and seminars, have been established to accomplish this mission. IES publishes and distributes the finest lighting literature authored by committees with the most experienced minds in industry and academia today.


Clayton Gordon - Illuminating Engineering Society (IES)
212-248-5000 ext. 110


[email protected]

Web site:

Submit new products, case studies/projects, and other press releases at and