GE announces winner of 28th annual GE Edison Award

May 18, 2011
Date Announced: 18 May 2011 -- Rotsch and Schulz of Licht Kunst Licht AGOn the eve of North America’s largest lighting show, Lightfair International, GE Lighting presented its prestigious 2010 GE Edison Award to Alexander Rotsch and Andreas Schulz of Licht Kunst Licht AG, a lighting design firm in Bonn, Germany. The pair were honoured during a presentation in Philadelphia on May 16, 2011, for lighting the ThyssenKrupp Quarter in Essen, Germany, a global materials and technology group. They were presented with a personalised Steuben crystal award for their win.This was the firm’s second consecutive Edison Award win. Schulz and Rotsch were also awarded the 2009 Edison Award for their lighting design of the EnBW City in Stuttgard, Germany, the new headquarters of EnBW, the third largest supplier of power, gas and water in Germany. The pair also won a 2010 Edison Award of Merit for Kunstsammlung NRW K20, an art museum in Dusseldorf, Germany. The 2010 Winning Lighting PlanThe corporate offices of ThyssenKrupp feature modern architecture brought to life by a progressive lighting plan. To quote the judges: “This is an amazing, large project with a stunning, harmonious and elegant result, beautiful inside and out. This is an exquisite manifestation of engineering expressed in building form, materials and lighting…the details and integrations are exceptional.”Rather than floodlighting the buildings from the outside, the interior lighting for the buildings defines the architecture. In the 11-story atrium, GE 35-watt and 70-watt ConstantColor® CMH® G12 4200 K lamps provide crisp directional illumination on the ground level. The other lighting layers include recessed wallwashers with GE 39-watt T5 4000 K lamps and linear LEDs integrated into the handrails of the atrium bridges. Dining areas feature combinations of ceramic metal halide wallwashing, decorative halogen pendants and T5 fluorescent coves. In the executive dining area, custom circular pendants with GE 35-watt halogen lamps provide direct lighting on the dining tables, as well as indirect lighting. In the large upper level foyer area, daylight is supplemented with 35-watt CMH® G12 4200 K lamps. In the large 1000-seat conference room, GE 24-watt T5 4000 K fluorescent lighting and halogen downlights, on separate dimming circuits, provide flexible lighting schemes for a broad range of activities.About the GE Edison Awards, Other FinalistsThe GE Edison Award competition is open internationally to lighting professionals who creatively employ significant use of GE light sources (lamps and/or LEDs) in a lighting design project completed during the previous year. A prestigious panel of five judges selected this year’s winning entry for its superiority in the following categories: functional excellence; architectural compatibility; effective use of state-of-the-art lighting products and techniques; appropriate color, form and texture revelation; energy effectiveness and cost effectiveness. Judges for this 28th annual competition were: -- Mônica Luz Lobo, Arquiteta, LD Studio, Rio de Janeiro, Brasil;-- M. Jonathan Plumpton, IESNA, LEED® AP, WSP ▪ Flack + Kurtz, San Francisco, California, USA;-- Miles J.H. Pinniger, BSc, Ceng, MIEE, MILE, MSLL, Miles Pinniger Independent Consultant, Godstone, Surrey, UK;-- Shelli Sedlak, LC, LEED® AP, GE Lighting, Cleveland, Ohio, USA;-- Sandra M. Stashik, PE, IALD, FIES, LEED® AP, Grenald Waldron Associates, Narberth, Pennsylvania, USA.The winning project was one of three Awards of Excellence finalists. The other Awards of Excellence winners were: -- The Science Storms at the Museum of Science and Industry, Chicago (Chicago, Illinois, USA) designed by Paul Gregory, JR Krauza, Joshua Spitzig, Kenneth Schutz and Dan Henry of Focus Lighting(New York, New York, USA), Architect - Evidence Design (Brooklyn, New York, USA)-- David Yurman Townhouse (New York, New York, USA) designed by Renée Cooley, Renée Joosten and Andressa Lopes of Cooley Monato Studio (New York, New York, USA), Architect - Gabellini Sheppard Associates (New York, New York, USA).Also presented at the GE Edison Awards ceremony were five Awards of Merit, two Awards for Excellence in Environmental Design and one Award for Residential Design. 2010 GE Edison Awards of MeritKunstsammlung NRW K20 (Düsseldorf, Germany) Dipl.-Ing. Alexander Rotsch and Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Andreas Schulz Licht Kunst Licht AG (Bonn, Germany)“Terra Mineralia” The Mineral Collection Freudenstein Castle (Freiberg, Saxony, Germany) Michael F. Rohde, Stephanie Rock, Peter Uhrig and Liane Langhans L-PLAN Lighting Design (Berlin, Germany) Hackley School, Goodhue Memorial Hall (Tarrytown, New York, USA) Karen Goldstick Goldstick Lighting Design, Ltd. (White Plains, New York, USA) Peter Gisolfi Peter Gisolfi Associates (Hastings-on-Hudson, New York, USA) The Collaborative Research Center at The Rockefeller University (New York, New York, USA) Stephen D. Bernstein, Marty Salzberg, Nira Wattanachote and Nathalie Faubert Cline Bettridge Bernstein Lighting Design (New York, New York, USA) Peddie School, Ian Graham Athletic Center (Hightstown, New Jersey, USA) Faith E. Baum and Joseph Conti Illumination Arts LLC (Bloomfield, New Jersey, USA) 2010 GE Edison Awards for Excellence in Environmental Design:Miami University, Farmer School of Business (Oxford, Ohio, USA) Ardra Paige Zinkon Tec Inc. Engineering & Design (Columbus, Ohio, USA) University of Oregon, John E. Jaqua Academic Center for Student Athletes (Eugene, Oregon, USA) Mark Godfrey Interface Engineering Lighting Studio (Portland, Oregon, USA) Architect: ZGF Architects (Portland, Oregon, USA) 2010 GE Edison Award for Residential Design: River House II (Aspen, Colorado, USA) Robert Singer and Chase Carter Robert Singer & Associates (Basalt, Colorado, USA) Architect: Charles Cunniffe Architects (Carbondale, Colorado, USA) Visit to view all the award winners of the 2010 GE Edison Awards in more detail and to find information related to the 2011 GE Edison Award call for entries.

Emma Marsh Senior Account Manager Tel: +44 (0) 1372 371 800 Fax: +44 (0) 1372 371 801 Mobile: 07816 217 930

E-mail:[email protected]