WEBCAST: Understanding color science and applying it to optimize color quality in SSL lamp and luminaire design

The Webcast will look at the basics of color science relative to the human visual system, and describe how solid-state light (SSL) product design – lamps or luminaires – is progressing to deliver optimal light quality.

Content Dam Leds En Articles 2013 01 Webcast Understanding Color Science And Applying It To Optimize Color Quality In Ssl Lamp And Lumina Leftcolumn Article Thumbnailimage File
Title: Understanding color science and applying it to optimize color quality in SSL lamp and luminaire design

Broadcast Date: Thursday, February 21, 2013

Broadcast Time: 8:00 am PST | 10:00 am CST | 11:00 am EST | 5:00 pm UK

Presenter: George Kelly, Manager Avnet Light Lab

Register for this Webcast now!

Overview:

The Webcast will look at the basics of color science relative to the human visual system, and describe how solid-state light (SSL) product design – lamps or luminaires – is progressing to deliver optimal light quality. The presentation will cover color rendering along with metrics such as CRI and CQS that help characterize SSL product performance. Moreover, the discussion will include details of different architectural approaches to products that can deliver on the conflicting goals of producing warm white light and rendering colors optimally. George Kelly will present the webcast and is the author of an ongoing series of technical articles in LEDs Magazine focused on color science. Kelly is an LED technical specialist at Avnet Electronics Marketing, and manager of the Avnet Light Lab.

Register for this Webcast now!

+++++

SPONSOR

Avnet02072013
+++++

Avnet Electronics Marketing serves electronic original equipment manufacturers (EOEMs) and electronic manufacturing services (EMS) providers in more than 70 countries, distributing electronic components from leading manufacturers and providing associated design-chain and supply-chain services.

+++++

SPEAKER

+++++

George Kelly is the author of a recurring series of technical article in LEDs Magazine that have focused on color science starting with an analysis of the human visual systems and followed with detailed coverage of the foundational principles of color science, the significant metrics and characteristics of LED lighting related to color, and the architectural approaches that enable high-quality SSL products. He graduated from the University of Saskatchewan with a Bachelor's Degree in Engineering and Physics. Kelly is a technical specialist at Avnet and manager of the Avnet Light Lab.

Register for this Webcast now!

More in Retail & Hospitality